Love Wins, But Rob Bell Loses.

Recently, Rob Bell came out in support of Gay Marriage. He claimed that he “is for love and fidelity, whether that is man with man, man with woman, or woman with woman.”

Wow.

Bell does not have the reputation of following Scripture, but this takes him even further out of classification as a Christian. While many people claim that “you cannot judge a person’s heart,” Bell is making it clear that he is not a member of the Christian faith.
The transition of the “progressive/emergent” Christian from being someone who wanted contemporary music in churches to, now, being a group of people who are willing to compromise clear biblical truths in order to be tolerant and accepting has been a frightening transition. Rob Bell’s fear of losing a Hollywood popularity contest has caused him to compromise on the truth of Scripture.

Here’s the thing: Love does win. As a matter of fact, Love has already won. Love won on the cross and love won when Jesus rose from the grave. But Love does not win when people like Rob Bell, Shaun King, and Carlos Whittaker allow people to remain in their sin and comfort them as being Christians. Those who genuinely struggle with homosexuality look at people like Rob Bell and hear that they do not have to repent for their sin in order to have a relationship with Christ and go to heaven.

This is a direct contradiction to scripture.

I plead with my Christian friends: do not compromise on the truth. If you are a Christian, that means that you have accepted Christ as your Lord and Savior. Asking Christ to be your savior is easy, and this is what people like Bell, King, and Whittaker advocate. But asking Christ to be Lord is essential for salvation. And, if you are a Christian, this means that where you and the Bible disagree, the Bible is right and you are wrong. The Bible is God’s word. No matter how you feel about abortion or homosexual marriage, Jesus is against it.

If you claim to be a Christian, it means that you affirm God’s word above your own. I pray that we all examine how we daily rebel against God.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Love Wins, But Rob Bell Loses.

  1. I’m not so sure about some of your generalizations here, but overall I appreciate your thoughts. Just to push back a little, I don’t believe “Bell is making it clear that he is not a member of the christian faith” as you said. I think he is just not a member of the Evangelical Right, a sect of Christianity.

    I’m also not sure what you mean by “Hollywood popularity contest.”

    Truth be told, I’m not on board with everything Bell says; I do think the heart of his message is pure. I listen to him with a filter, as I would any pastor, author, or speaker.

    Personally, I have been a Christian in favor of letting the gay marriage issue go. I feel that homosexuality is a sin, and not natural. But keeping people from being married doesn’t make them any less gay, it just limits their civil rights and gives them a larger cause to fight for.

    I hope this comes across as friendly argument; I genuinely like these types of conversations.

    • I enjoy this as well, thanks for your comment.
      I referred to the Hollywood popularity contest because Bell left his church to work on a TV show with a writer from “lost.”
      I also don’t find the issue of gay marriage to be the hill I want to die on, but I think Christians are doing a poor job loving homosexuals the way Jesus would love them.
      I just want Bell (and all of us) to think about what it means when we disagree with what the Bible says.

      • I couldn’t agree more!

        Interesting about Bell and the writer from Lost. I thought he stepped away from the church after Love Wins came out because it was too distracting and he just wanted to be a speaker/author. I think the Lost thing is a bit more recent. As usual, I could be wrong though.

Leave a Reply

